New VMware Mid-Level Certifications Announced

Yes folks, just when you thought you’d finished with your VMware certifications or were maybe taking a breather before heading down the VMware Certified Design Expert (VCDX) path VMware have announced a new intermediate layer of VMware certifications to tempt you with.  There are now a total of three certification levels each reflecting a varying depth of knowledge of VMware vSphere and vCenter Server.  Here’s a summary of these three levels of VMware certification:

  • VMware Certified Professional (VCP)
  • VMware Certified Advanced Professional (VCAP)
  • VMware Certified Design Expert (VCDX)

VMware CertificationThe VCP and VCDX certifications you are probably already familiar with so lets take a closer look at the new VMware Certified Advanced Professional (VCAP) certification where there are two specialities to choose from.  As the name suggests a VCAP is designed for those wanting to demonstrate an ‘Advanced’ level of knowledge in the area of VMware vSphere.  You will notice that the VCP, VCAP and VCDX certifications have a numeric value in the certification title, in this case ‘4’ which indicates that is for vSphere/ESX 4.  Following this logic through when the next version of vSphere or equivalent is released this will likely be a ‘5’, though this is still a little way off so there is still plenty of time for things to change.


VMware Certification Advanced Professional (VCAP) – The Different Specialities

Prerequisites: Both of the new VCAP4 accreditations have a prerequisite of a VCP4 certification and there are ‘suggested’, though not compulsory, courses for each.  So unlike the VCP certification where you have to attend the appropriate official VMware course as well as sit the exam with these two new VCAP certifications you only need to sit an exam for each (ie: no course is required).

VMware Certified Advanced Professional 4 – Datacenter Administration (VCAP4-DCA)

The Datacenter Administration (VCAP4-DCA) variant of the VCAP certification is aimed at those “System Administrators, Senior Consultants and Technical Support Engineers who work with large and more complex virtualized environments and can demonstrate technical leadership with vSphere technologies. Successful candidates are able to use automation tools, to plan and design virtualized solutions and to administer all vSphere Enterprise components”


VCAP-DCA Recommended (though not compulsory) Training
VMware vSphere: Troubleshooting [V4]
VMware vSphere: Manage for Performance [V4]


VMware Certified Advanced Professional 4 – Datacenter Design (VCAP4-DCD)

This certification is more aimed towards “IT Architects and Consulting Architects who design VMware solutions in a multi-site, large enterprise environment. They have a deep understanding both of VMware core components and their relation to storage and networking as well as datacenter design methodologies. They also possess knowledge of applications and physical infrastructure, as well as their relationship to the virtual infrastructure.”


VCAP-DCD Recommended (though not compulsory) Training
VMware vSphere: Design Workshop [V4]


When can I apply to sit the exam for these certifications?

If you are interested in sitting the exam for either of these certifications then you will have to wait a little while (at the time of writing this post), though check out the dates below for when you’ll be able to register for these exams.

Registration for VCAP4-DCA: July 12. Learn more about this VCAP specialty.

Registration for VCAP4-DCD: Opens in August. Learn more about this VCAP specialty.

Sign up to receive an email alert when these certifications become available for registration.


How to become a VMware VCDX4

So whilst were talking about certifications let’s take a quick look at the required steps for becoming a VCDX.  Basically what you’ll need is a VCP4, a VCAP4-DCA, a VCAP4-DCD followed by submitting a VCDX4 application for presenting your VCDX4 Defence to the defence panel.  Once you have successfully passed all of these then you have made it!  The diagram below provides a good clear overview of what is required to achieving the prestigious title of VMware Certified Design Expert (VCDX).

VMware vSphere Exams


Good luck to all of you setting out on your journey to VCAP4 or VCDX certification.  Why not leave us a comment to let us know about your VMware study or exam experiences, it’s always interesting to hear your thoughts, experiences or any tips or hints you may want to share.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin